Karnataka MSP – Water

The Government of Karnataka vide Government Order WRD 52 KBN 2017 dated 28.03.2017 constituted the Karnataka MSP Steering Board to discuss efficient approaches for water conservation management. The Karnataka MSP Steering Board is chaired by the Chief Secretary, Karnataka, and includes the Heads of Departments of Water, Urban Development, Agriculture, Finance, Commerce & Industries as well as CII, SLBC, FKCCI as private sector members, and IIMB, IISc, and Arghyam as civil society members.


The MSP workstreams are chaired by steering board members, and co-Chaired by members from Industry.

  1. Agri-Water: Chaired by the Additional Chief Secretary, Water Resources Department, the workstream aims to contribute to water use efficiency at scale while developing replicable frameworks for market-driven solutions and public-private-community participation models. Initiatives as partof the workstream in transforming value chains include the DMAC (Drip to Market Agro Corridor) initiative that facilitates market linkages to farmers at micro-irrigation projects.
  2. Urban Water: Chaired by the Additional Chief Secretary, Urban Development, the workstream facilitates better urban water management. Initiatives as part of the workstream in building resilience include a policy framework and guidelines for implementation of wastewater reuse projects, development of a tool for investment prioritization in urban water projects, as well as Public-Private Partnership (PPP) opportunities for supporting the reuse of treated wastewater in urban-industrial and peri-urban agricultural areas.
  3. Industrial Water: Chaired by the Principal Secretary, Commerce and Industries Department, the workstream aims to facilitate collaborative industry partnerships and benchmarking in promoting circular economy solutions as well as building resilience through a robust enabling environment and policy framework for industrial water security.

Key Partners

key partners karnataka